The Collected Fantasies, Volume 1
The End of the Story

Night Shade Books is proud to present The Collected Fantasies of Clark Ashton Smith in five volumes. Editors Scott Connors and Ron Hilger have compared original manuscripts, various typescripts, published editions, and Smith's notes and letters, in order to prepare a definitive set of texts.

This series will present Smith's fiction chronologically, based on composition rather than publication. The editorial decision to present these finely crafted tales chronologically, as opposed to thematically, was made in order to present Smith's fiction as part of a continuum—Smith's style evolved as he grew older, and gained access to the commercial markets. The ebb and flow of his prose over the course of his lifetime can be charted via the five volumes of this series.

The Collected Fantasies series is authorized by the Smith Estate, and is endorsed by Arkham House. Night Shade Books has been publishing weird and fantastic fiction, and related material, since its inception.

In addition to Smith, Night Shade has published H. P. Lovecraft, Manly Wade Wellman, William Hope Hodgson, and Lord Dunsany. Night Shade has published dozens

of contemporary writers of Fantasy, SF, and Horror.

The End of the Story is the first of five volumes that collects all of Clark Ashton Smith's tales of fantasy, horror, and science fiction, faithfully following Smith's manuscripts. It includes, in chronological order, all of his stories from "The Abominations of Yondo" (1925) to "A Voyage to Sfanomoe" (1930). It features an introduction by Ramsey Campbell, as well as extensive notes on each story.

Cover Art by Jason Van Hollander

ORDER Hardcover

This is a work of fiction. All the characters and events portrayed in this book are fictional, and any resemblance to real people or incidents is purely coincidental.

First printing, February 2006

Distributed by Night Shade Books
1423 33rd Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94122

Printed in Canada

eISBN: 978-1-59780-362-5
ISBN-13: 978-1-59780-028-0

Copyright 2006 by Clark Ashton Smith

Introduction © 2006 by Ramsey Campbell
A Note on the Texts © 2006 by Scott Connors and Ron Hilger
Story Notes © 2006 by Scott Connors and Ron Hilger
Bibliography © 2006 by Scott Connors and Ron Hilger

All rights reserved, including the right to reproduce this book or portions thereof in any form.

Night Shade Books
1423 33rd Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94122

Electronic version by Baen Books