In the tradition of Mirrorshades—stories from the virtual frontier…

A collection of short stories from the virtual frontier follows the exploits of the world's most notorious hackers and includes contributions from Greg Bear, William Gibson, Robert Silverberg, and Bruce Sterling. This wide-ranging collection of cyberspace tales, featuring the most cutting-edge writers in science fiction, goes beyond the stereotypes of computer rogues and delves into the true heart--and art--of hackerdom.

“Burning Chrome” by William Gibson
“Spirit of the Night” by Tom Maddox
“Blood Sisters” by Greg Egan
“Rock On” by Pat Cadigan
“The Pardoner’s Tale” by Robert Silverberg
“Living Will” by Alexander Jablokov
“Dogfight” by Michael Swanwick and Willia Gibson
“Our Neural Chernobyl” by Bruce Sterling
“(Learning about) Machine Sex” by Candas Jane Dorsey
“Conversations with Michael” by Daniel Marcus
“Gene Wars” by Paul J. McAuley
“Spew” by Neal Stephenson
“Tangents” by Greg Bear

Cover Art by Sharmen Liao

This is a work of fiction. All the characters and events portrayed in this book are fictional, and any resemblance to real people or incidents is purely coincidental.

First printing, October 1996

Printed in the United States of America

eISBN: 978-1-62579-147-4

Copyright 2013 by Gardner Dozois and Jack Dann

All rights reserved, including the right to reproduce this book or portions thereof in any form.

Electronic version by Baen Books